Sri Lanka Association for Software and Services Companies (SLASSCOM) Annual General Meeting and the Award Night 2016 was held last Wednesday (28) at the Kingsbury Hotel, Colombo. The awards night was organised for the second consecutive year recognising individuals and organisations for their outstanding contributions towards driving IT-BPM industry’s objectives for 2022; $5 billion in revenue, 200,000 jobs and 1000 start-ups.

Industry Leadership Award

The industry leadership award was presented to the individuals of SLASSCOM member companies who have contributed to the development of the IT-BPM industry through various initiatives. SLASSCOM recognised 9 individuals under this category.

Naresh Abeysekera – Secquoro
Ashique M. Ali – Talliance
Mangala Karunarathne – Calcey Technologies
Hathim Sabry – Hemas Holdings
Mohamed Hisham – Tellida
Sisira Kumara – Millennium IT
Shenika Herath and Nuwan Perera – IFS R&D International
Rashmika Navarathne – 99X Technology were the individuals appreciated this year.
Industry Excellence Award

SLASSCOM recognised the organisations for their best practices in HR practices, Quality Management and Capacity Building, to encourage more organisations to follow systems to be more competitive in the industry.

The organisations were selected based on the applications submitted in each category. Each award was evaluated by a panel of independent judges.

WNS Global Services won the award for the Excellence in Quality Management.
VirtusaPolaris bagged the awards for Excellence in HR Practices and Excellence in Capacity Building.
Chairman’s Award

Chairman’s award was presented to Dinesh Saparamadu for his individual contribution to the development of the IT-BPM industry in the areas of Policy, Marketing and Branding, building the start-up eco-system and building HR and capacity.