SLASSCOM signs 4 historic MoUs to foster nationwide digital inclusivity

With the aim of supporting the governments vision of building a digitally inclusive Sri Lanka, that includes the next generation being provided with opportunities to engage in digitally driven innovation to develop new solutions, SLASSCOM recently signed MoUs with four key start-up hubs, namely Sabaragamuwa, Wayamba, Eastern and Central Startup Hubs, covering four of the main provinces of Sri Lanka.

Uva Startup Hub and Northern Chamber of IT, which have already signed MoUs with SLASSCOM, were also present in the event. All the six regional hubs were recognised for the great collaboration they have been having with SLASSCOM.

The main intention of this historic move was to extend opportunities to regional entrepreneurial start-ups and SMEs in capacity and skills building, technology diffusion and gender-specific initiatives, that in turn will give rise to IT/BPM companies and tech start-ups across the country. Furthermore, the MoU will help support in producing regional technopreneurs and enable them to acquire referrals, networking opportunities and access to funding.


The event was organised by the SLASSCOM Regional Development Forum and took place at Cinnamon Lakeside in Colombo. The chairperson, directors, general council members, key personnel of SLASSCOM together with the representatives of regional hubs attended the event. SLASSCOM will work in collaboration with all these regional partners over the coming years in offering a host of opportunities from capacity building, incubation facilities and investor opportunities.

SLASSCOM Board Director Dilan Rajapakse outlined the chambers plans to the regional hubs and the support and expertise they could offer each region. He highlighted with stats the emerging engagement of regional participation in the SLASSCOM events.

Speaking at the event SLASSCOM Chairperson Sandra De Zoysa stated, “The future of every component of our lives will be ingrained in tech and as such we need to infuse this technology into all of our industries and companies across the country that in turn will help create a positive economic shift. We also need to engage our women that make up 51 percent of our population in tech and innovation and bridge the divide that is currently prevalent in the country. Today we are formally embarking on paving the way to harnessing a digitally inclusive entrepreneurship ecosystem in our country through these MoUs.”

The MoUs were officially signed by SLASSCOM chairperson and the representatives of the respective regional hubs that comprised of Uditha Bandara of Sabaragamuwa Startup Hub, Sanjeewa Pathirana of Wayamba Startup Hub, Kajan Subash of Eastern Startup Hub and Nalin Boomawala of Central Startup Hub.

Post by Thanuri

Comments are closed.